Elle Italia Feb. 2010

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what has for so long been considered a “no fly zone” in the collective opinion of allegedly stylish people, the denim-on-denim ensemble. It first piqued my interest a while ago, let’s say 2 or 3 months, when, in typical Laura fashion, I was in a rut about what to wear. It was one of those pained days when I wouldn’t settle for a t-shirt and found that the only things I wanted to wear were my thrifted Gap button down embellished with pearl snaps and my pair of dark wash blue jeans I had tailored myself at the crest of the skinny jean-grapple. Whereas in my younger years I was about as ready to sport an all-denim get-up as I was a guido tuxedo, I have to admit that I was attracted by the look. While I imagine that some of my less daring friends may snicker at the thought of me dressed up in full Canadian trailer-trash costume, I realize that I am not the only one warming to the idea. I’m not just talking about the endearing yet limited site thecanadiantuxedo.com which endorses the trend  with the encouraging words:

“Sometimes it’s important to look your best. Sometimes everything else is in the wash. Sometimes you just don’t need a reason. In these situations, it’s good to know there’s a fashionable option to ensure you feel comfortable as well as good looking. Couple your jeans with your denim jacket in a delicious double denim ensemble that tells the world just how super cool you are.”

This 90’s revival trend saw a lot of runway time in Spring 2010 collections, notably in collections by Dolce & Gabbana, House of Holland and Jean Paul Gaultier. Not to say that this is the first time that the Canadian tuxedo has been attempted by a reputed coutourier, Karl Lagerfeld took the house of Chanel in the very same direction back in the 80’s by debuting the classic Chanel suit made in denim instead of it’s usual tweed with the argument that part of Coco Chanel’s fame came from the use of materials that had previously only been appropriate for making men’s underwear with and so why shouldn’t he reinvent denim? Unfortunately, the collection was not received well due to it’s turning out looking more like Britney & JT’s double denim rather than Garance Dore style.

D&G Spring 2010

Jean Paul Gaultier Spring 2010

Helmut Lang Spring 2010

House of Holland Spring 2010

Louis Vuitton Spring 2010

William Rast Spring 2010

Givenchy Spring 2010

Ralph Lauren Spring 2010

Twenty8Twelve Spring 2010

(clockwise from top left) Chloe, Kenzo, G-Star, Mulberry, Limi Feu, Alexander McQueen

You may have noticed that I have not included any overalls. This ommitance was intentional, I am going to fully ignore the miserable resurection of this horrid trend until it fades out once again into fashion oblivion (although like anything that ugly, they’ll never really disappear). Needless to say, bloggers have also noticed and experimented with the trend, all of them looking quite fly in the canuck tux, behold:

(left to right) Copenhagen Street Style, Scott Schuman, twincatvintage

Garance Dore, turnedout.tv, thestudentroom.co.uk

I’d really like to hear peoples thoughts on this – love it? hate it? done it? where do we go from here? Leave a comment with your blog/style gallery if you have images of yourself sporting this look, I’d really like to gain a perspective on the potential of this trend. On than note, I think I’ll try this one out myself tomorrow for real – I’ll get back to you on how it’s received.

